State - NM Dept. of Ag.; NM Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Jeff Witte, Secretary of Agriculture/NMDA Director, 575-646-3007
Julie Maitland, NMDA Division Director, Ag. Programs & Resources, 575-646-2642
    P. O. Box 30005 APR, Las Cruces, NM 88003, Fax:  575-646-1540
Tiffany Rivera, Government & Legislative Reglations, trivera@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-646-5854
Patricia Depner, Program Coordinator,  pdepner@nmda.nmsu.edu575-646-2642
JoAnne Contaldo, Program Coordinator, jcontaldo@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-646-1091

NMDA S&W Conservation Specialists:
    Johnna Bruhn, jbruhn@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-487-9266
    Katie Mechenbier, kmechenbier@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-642-4545
    Jim Wanstall, and Noxious Weed Specialist, JWanstall@nmda.nmsu.edu, 505-565-4224
    Kathryn "Katie" Kruthaupt, kkruthaupt@nmda.nmsu.edu575-646-2006

NMDA Natural Resource Policy and Planning Analysts:
    Lacy Levine, llevine@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-646-8024
    Ryan Ward, rward@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-646-2670
    Marshal Wilson, mwilson@nmda.nmsu.edu, 575-646-4941
 

New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission

                 


The New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission serves as the state entity providing guidance and policy direction to the local Soil and Water Conservation Districts.  Commission members include:
 
Region Represented                                Name                                 Home District
Region 1                                                       J. Steven Glass                    Ciudad SWCD
Region 2                                                      Jose Varela-Lopez              Santa Fe-Pojoaque SWCD
Region 3 and Chair                                   Dusty Hunt                          Grant SWCD
Region 4                                                      Gabe Estrada*                     Tierra y Montes SWCD
Region 5                                                      Vacant
Region 6 and Vice Chair                          John Norris                          Lea SWCD
At-Large                                                      Charlie Sanchez, Jr.            Valencia SWCD
*Missing in above picture of Commission members during their February 2015 meeting.
 
Ex-Officio (non-voting ) Members

Governor of New Mexico                         Susana Martinez         W: 505-827-3000        State Capitol 4th Floor
                                                                                                               gov@gov.state.nm.us    Santa Fe, NM  87503
 
Designee, NMSU                                           Jeff Witte                  W: 575-646-5063          P.O. Box 30005, MSC DIR
                                                                                                     nmagsec@nmda.nmsu.edu   Las Cruces, NM 88003
 
NMACD President                                        Jim Berlier                 H:505-384-2543           P. O. Box 194
                                                                                                                   C:505-705-3333             Estancia, NM 87016
                                                                                                                   berlierranch@gmail.com
 
State Conservationist, NRCS                     Xavier Montoya      W: 505-761-4401            6200 Jefferson NE
                                                                                                  Xavier.Montoya@nm.usda.gov  Albuquerque, NM 87109
 
Associate Dean & Director,                        Jon Boren                   W:575-646-3015             P.O. Box 30003, MSC3AE
Cooperative Extension Service                                                        jboren@nmsu.edu          Las Cruces, NM 88003
 
Associate Dean & Director,                        David Thompson       W:575-646-3125            P.O. Box 30003, MSC3AE
Agricultural Experiment Station                                                      dathomps@nmsu.edu Las Cruces, NM 88003